My 2017 TransPRK/Lasek Experience — Part One: Why I chose TransPRK over Lasik

Manj Bahra
6 min readMar 19, 2017

In this three part series I talk through my recent TransPRK Laser treatment for the benefit of others. In Part One I cover my reasons for opting out of Lasik, whilst Part Two and Three look at my recovery and tips for anyone thinking about treatment.

Thinking about getting your eyes lasered?

In 2007 I tried on a friends glasses in absolute shock. I was seeing in 4K High Definition before it became all the rage. It was at an indoor cricket net session and all of a sudden I could see EVERYTHING. I tried them on when batting and realised I could see the seam on the ball. I scheduled an eye test the next day, and spent the next 10 years wearing glasses (prescription -1.75). I acknowledge glasses are not that bad , though when you need them to play sport, read clocks, or watch movies, they can be a real inconvenience. Many opt for contacts, however I (and Vision Express!) could never get them in. In fact any touching of the eye makes me queasy and uneasy. I opted for laser surgery on the recommendation of two friends who had been recently treated. I decided on TransPRK over Lasik, despite the latter being the most popular choice of treatment for many patients and clinics. This post aims to provide an useful and unbiased read for anyone thinking about the process, given many similar blogs are either dated or Lasik focused.

--

--

Manj Bahra

Dating Coach | Helping women understand men and find their life partner | Join my FREE community for more: www.skool.com/modern-dating-wisdom-7204