My 2017 TransPRK/Lasek Experience — Part Three: The Recovery

Manj Bahra
8 min readJul 1, 2017

In this three part series I talk through my recent TransPRK Laser treatment for the benefit of others. In Part One I cover my reasons for opting out of Lasik, whilst Part Two and Three look at my recovery and tips for anyone thinking about treatment.

Day 0 Monday (Surgery)

5PM: I arrived home less than an hour after my operation and felt fine though light sensitive, most likely because the anesthetic drop was still in effect. I wore sunglasses around the house and immediately drank vitamin C. Honestly I had expected to be much worse straight after the treatment. My biggest annoyance was the contact lenses in my right eye. For whatever reason I could feel it much more. On the surgery day you are required to apply artificial tears every 15 minutes. I made a complete hash of this due to my extremely long eyelashes. Lowering the bottom eyelid didn’t work so I alternated between the inside of the eye and lifting the upper-lid. It took about 4 attempts each time to get 1 drop in, every 15 minutes. Soon my face was covered in tears that had missed my eyes. An excellent start to an already daunting recovery process.

Drop schedule for the first week

6PM: It became increasingly difficult to keep my eyes open though I wasn’t in pain. The eyes felt scratchy and irritated more than anything. This made it hard to apply the drops but you…

--

--

Manj Bahra

Dating Coach | Helping women understand men and find their life partner | Join my FREE community for more: www.skool.com/modern-dating-wisdom-7204